Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best Depth Finder for Kayak Fishing

Post Thanks / Like

Default Best Depth Finder for Kayak Fishing

I recently bought a kayak and am now in the market for a depth finder. I have zero experience with depth finders, so buying one seems a bit overwhelming. I mostly fish brush in small creeks that range in depth from 5 to 20 feet. $400 is my limit on spending.

What kind of fish finder would be best? Side imaging? Down imaging? I appreciate your input.
    Call me Cole.

Post Thanks / Like

You should probably go to a BPS or a Cabelas and look, punch some buttons, ask questions, punch more buttons, try and determine which brand/model you can easily operate and understand what it's telling you, then look some more. Youtube has tons of reviews on the various models and their features which can help in the decision process. It's a ford vs chevy thing, you may like HB and someone else likes Lowrance.
    GO BIG ORANGE !

I meant to behave, but there were just way too many other options available at the time.
    Likes warnerwalter, dougruss47 LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Might consider starting with a Flasher. Its simple, gives you real time and with the ability to stay/hover over the spot, it would work very well. Maybe a Vexilar FL-8 or similar. Its also indispensable for hard water fishing!
    Likes warnerwalter LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like