Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cant catch fish!!!

Post Thanks / Like

Default Cant catch fish!!!

Went out today in Tennessee and tried my hand at bringin home some slabs. Air temp was about 45 and water temp ranged from 46-48. So I naturally thought that the fish would be deep. So I started in 16 FOW and varied my spider rig accordingly. Not a single bite. So OK i thought maybe they are deeper. WRONG. went to 20-25 FOW and fished from 12-20 feet deep and struck out once again. At first i just thought it was a bad day but after calling a buddy of mine on the way home. He limited out in only a few hours. He said he was catching them 3-5 foot deep in 8-10 FOW..??? Can they really be that shallow with the water temp still being in the forties this time of year. Im still learning obviously. Any of you guys have any input?

chaunc is offline 2014 Crappie.com Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

I catch boatloads of them that shallow when the water temps are like that. Go fish shallow wood, brush piles and stumps.

Post Thanks / Like

some spots here in texas have shad runs up creeks and rivers in the winter . we have fish in less than 9 feet of water on fire right now up some of the rivers and creeks .i dont know why some fish do what they do or why exactly and i have heard alot of different things ,but i do know the deep fish out in open water this year are flat out not cooperating on many of the traditionally great winter spots.
    our water temps are similar to yours right now in most spots as well. it also seems that disappointing trips to the lakes are the norm this winter in our area for most folks .
    i am going back to the creek soon myself because i keep hearing reports that make me want to avoid the lakes right now .