Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HOW DO YOU PREFISH FOR UPCOMING TOURANMENT

Post Thanks / Like

Default HOW DO YOU PREFISH FOR UPCOMING TOURANMENT

DO U FISH MANY PLACES,HOW LONG TO A PLACE, MANY KIND OF WAYS PER TIME OF YEAR,MAPS AND SEARCH WITH UNIT.WHAT KIND OF AREA ARE U LOOKING FOR AND SO ON,WANT TO SEE WHAT I MIGHT BE MISSING
    God Demonstrated his love for us. Romans 5:8

Post Thanks / Like

I look forward to the responses, as I am struggling with the best way. I study a contour map, use Google Earth, and then basically wander blindly! I am only familiar with 2 lakes and we fish these plus 4 that I'm not, and this is my first year. Love it, but always feel unprepared.

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

I don't $$ tournament fish ... but, if I did :

What I'd likely do is study a topo map of the lake - find areas that closely resemble areas of lakes I'm familiar with - use the methods I know best, that work around the depths or cover present, that's most likely to present my bait to the fish in accordance with the prevailing season or water conditions. And I wouldn't try and cover the whole lake ... just a few likely looking areas, not too far from the launch site ... so as to have as much time to set up and fish as long as possible.

Of course, I would do my "homework" ... checking online sources for recent reports, water levels and conditions, prevailing weather patterns and upcoming forecasts, layout of the lake on Google Earth (and check back through the history images), etc.