Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Fly rod to spinning rod conversion???

Post Thanks / Like

Default Fly rod to spinning rod conversion???

That's right, I've said something way out of the ordinary!

Ive seen some guys trout fishing with really long poles. I talked to several of these guys and said they converted a fly rod blank (3-4 wt.) into a 2 or 3 piece spinning rod. The question is, how hard is it to convert a 3-4 wt. 6'9" fly rod into a spinning rod for panfish?

Also so to note, I have no experience in rod building, but I'll give a hand at it. I do have a junky 3-4 wt. that I have in my closet that I rarely use anymore and I was wondering if I could just strip the eyes off, re-cork the butt, new reel seat, and put light spinning reel eyes on it.

Thanks guys!

"Calm Sease, My Friend."

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by 2Bass2Furious View Post
    ... I was wondering if I could just strip the eyes off, re-cork the butt, new reel seat, and put light spinning reel eyes on it.
    You don't have to go to all that trouble. You could just fish it "as is" with a spinning reel. I have.
    Likes 2Bass2Furious, "G", skeetbum, Tn Johnboy LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Never thought of that. I'll look into it. Thank you!

Cray is offline Crappie.com 2019 Man of Year, Supermod & Moderator of the Mechanics Forum * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Only thing I would do if you want to try is take off rear most guide and add a larger spinning guide. Not really necessary, I cast far as I want to with jigging pole and small guides. If your interested lots of videos on YouTube on rod building..
    Proud Member of Team Geezer
    Charlie Weaver USN/ENC 1965-1979

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

"Many Moons ago" ---