Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: mealworms, buy local or online?

Post Thanks / Like

Default mealworms, buy local or online?

where? You may not be local to Charlotte NC, but most towns are similar. Thanks!

Post Thanks / Like

It depends on how many I need. If it's just for one day of fishing, I buy local. If not, I order a bunch.

Post Thanks / Like

buy a bunch online? have a link? Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by deathb4disco View Post
    It depends on how many I need. If it's just for one day of fishing, I buy local. If not, I order a bunch.

Post Thanks / Like

Post Thanks / Like

FWIW, my local pet store (Petco) has a better bait selection than my local bait shop.
    Likes SeaRay, canebreaker, mikeski LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Raising mealworms is much easier,and far cheaper than raising kids !.All kidding aside,I've been raising my own mealworms for 5 years,they all but take care of themselves,I have live bait year round,and cost next to nothing
    Likes "G", gone_fishing LIKED above post

Slabprowler is offline Crappie.com Legend * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Ok sounds awesome tell us how. .?

Post Thanks / Like

Several ways work,mine works for me.I use a clear lidded 10 gallon tote,but smaller or larger works also.I purchased a 50lb bag of bran from a farmers market,( will last for several years ),I add about 3" of bran to cover the bottom of the tote.I also use a medium potato sliced in half for the mealworms to consume,and for moisture.
    A friend donated some refugee mealworms,in various stages to me ( DO NOT BUY,JUMBO MEALWORMS) They are basically a hybrid,having been dosed with a growth additive.Ordering a 1000 will give you a very good parent stock to begin you farm.Place the mealworms directly into your bedding mix,drill some tiny holes in the lid for air,keep some potatoes,or baby carrots in with them,and close the lid.