Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: dock shooting small jigs

Post Thanks / Like

Default dock shooting small jigs

I shoot docks most of the time. Have seen Russ Bailey videos talking about shooting 1/48 oz jigs with floats, my problem when using floats and 1/48 jigs the jig will not fall to the knot stop. Have tried using a small sinker but don't really like it. Also when shooting 1/48 oz jigs without a float I find it very hard to shoot them under a dock, they are so light I get to tend to shoot upward. I use a 6' and 7' rod with 4 or 6 lb line, will a shorter rod help. I do use the ice fishing float when I can find them. They are very hard to find. Any advise

Post Thanks / Like

I'm a novice when it comes to shooting docks but when I learned we used 1/64th oz jigs and a 1.75" bait. Shot just fine. Never heard of using a float on it?

Post Thanks / Like

Using a float allows the bait to say longer in the striking area. I had them hit it setting still next to a post under docks or boat houses. A 1/32 oz will fall very slow sometimes that is just the ticket.

Post Thanks / Like

Maybe a very limp 2# line will go through the bobber?

rnvinc is offline Crappie.com 2016 Man of the Year * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

I was thinking Russ "pegged" the float when he was shooting with small jigs ...

Rickie
    www.podunkideas.com <--Click here
    ------------—————
    https://www.crappie-gills-n-more.com/
    https://cornfieldfishinggear.com/

------------------------>> Pro Staff Sonar Advisor

rnvinc is offline Crappie.com 2016 Man of the Year * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

I thought Russ pegged the float ...but I guess not ...

Rickie
    www.podunkideas.com <--Click here
    ------------—————
    https://www.crappie-gills-n-more.com/
    https://cornfieldfishinggear.com/

------------------------>> Pro Staff Sonar Advisor

Post Thanks / Like