Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Help...... with Fall Pattern

Post Thanks / Like

Default Help...... with Fall Pattern

Although I was a competitive Bass fisherman for 20 + years, I am relatively new to crappie fishing. Today, 11/24/15, I went to a local reservoir here in central Ohio. Water temp. was about 50 and air temp was about the same. Nights have been pretty cold here for the past several days, low 30s. I located a good herd of crappie on my sonar in 20-23 feet of water and the fish were all in water between 13 and 15 feet on top of rock structure. We caught a few with jig and minnow but that's it, a few. The fish were there for a couple of hours we just couldn't get them to bite. Also tried roadrunner and Bobby Garland trailer, again nothing. Any suggestions as to what I could have tried ?
    Likes 71mach LIKED above post

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

First of all ... to Crappie.com !!

As to your question :

A couple of things I can think of would be ... downsizing your bait, moving off the school for 15-30mins & then coming back, using my Vertical Casting method ( Crappie Pappy Article ), or vertical jigging with slight pops of the rod tip or jerking the rod tip up a foot or more or deadsticking (holding the jig as still as possible and at the same depth.
    If none of those methods worked ... I'd be scouting for another spot with similar conditions.

... cp
    Likes NIMROD, Hanr3, skeetbum LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like