Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fishing a cold front at night (would you go?)

Post Thanks / Like

Default Fishing a cold front at night (would you go?)

Hello guys, new guy here and I have a question. But first the preface.

I'm relatively new to crappie fishing (about a year). I have always went at night and plan to keep it that way because it works out better with my schedule(3rd shift police officer with a family).

I use submerged 150led green lights and fish tied off to a bridge using live minnows in my 18' center console boat. We always catch a pile and usually pull a few good size hybrid stripers as well.

Due to my schedule I have been planning for about 3 weeks on going tomorrow night here in NC to Lake Norman with my fishing partner. The weather has taken a turn and they are calling for temps to be 50 hi to 25 low with wind at 5 to 10. It has been 20 degrees warmer all fall until now.

Has anyone ever fished this type of cold front? I have a Mr heater and plenty of hunting gear to keep warm but am concerned about how the front may affect the bite. Anyone dealt with this before?

I have been traversing the Internet and have come up empty on this particular subject as most folks fish the daylight in the winter, something I just can't do.
    Last edited by CrappiePappy; 11-21-2015 at 12:16 PM.

Post Thanks / Like

I'm no expert by no means but have had a lot of luck fishing at nite with lights an minnows. I'd say it's worth a shot.

Post Thanks / Like

In my opinion, you have 2 choices. Fish or don't fish. I would fish! The one thing I have learned about predicting the crappie bite is that it is often unpredictable! By trying, you will learn. If you share you're results, we will too. BTW, I am pretty new to this as well, so don't freeze to death on my advice!
    Likes Cmj, theygotaeat LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like