Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: New to Crappie Fishing

Post Thanks / Like

Default New to Crappie Fishing

Hey everyone,
    I'm new to targeting crappie. I was wondering what is the best way to locate and catch crappie from the bank or a kayak. On the kayak, I have no electronics, so I have no idea of underwater structure or depth. However, most of the time I will be fishing from the bank. I prefer to use artificials. What is the best way to present a jig from the bank?
    Thanks.

Post Thanks / Like

Justin
    I'm going to be honest with you, since I fish the bank half of the time.
    You need to do ALOT of learning, and this is a good site to do it....get maps of the lake, and then scout it...you need to see what areas you can get to, and see if there is any downed trees in the water, huge rocks, or any other cover that you can see. Crappie will use this throughout the year if there is a lot of shade, and it's close to a feeding area or deep water...the maps will tell you that!
    If you can reach a feeding flat, that area will be good in the early morning or at night....Other shallow areas with gravel and a few larger rocks are good areas during the spawn.
    If you have a 'yak, you need to save up and get some electronics on it...then you can cruise around with your map and see exactly what you are fishing, and learn the lake better.

READ AND LEARN ABOUT CRAPPIE...LEARN the water temps that determine their PATTERNS, and what they look for during the Patterns!

You can jig from the bank under a bobber, just cast, and slowly twitch and move the bait...you can also cast out w/o bobber and slowly retrieve back, etc....it helps to know how deep the water is (Map) and where the fish are (Patterns) plus what depth they are suspending (Both).