Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 4 strongest knots

Post Thanks / Like

Default 4 strongest knots

http://www.fieldandstream.com/photos/gallery/fishing/bass/where-fish/2009/02/strongest-fishing-knots
    Last edited by gone fission; 09-30-2015 at 05:51 PM.

Post Thanks / Like

if you read down you find that he comments about the knot percentage strength varies with the line brand.I have found that it varies with the line brand,the eye type and size its tied to,and the line size within brands. That's why it does help to test a typical setup that your fishing with. It doesn't take anything more than your fish scale to get a pretty accurate reading.

disclaimer: I am not a professional anything. I am talking just like in a tackle shop or coffee shop as a form of recreation. But I'm not in the habit of telling whoppers anymore than any other fisherman.

Post Thanks / Like

I'm sticking with the uni knot.

I was reading a saltwater fishing mag recently, and they did their own knot test for both mono and braid. For mono, a very complicated knot that I had never heard of before came in first. What was a very close second? The uni knot. For braided line, the palomar finished first, but the uni was only slightly behind it.

That being said, almost any knot you can tie quickly will work fine for crappie.
    Likes SeaRay LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by deathb4disco View Post
    ...That being said, almost any knot you can tie quickly will work fine for crappie.
    Ditto for fresh water - salt water a different story.
    Randy Andres

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by doggone View Post
    if you read down you find ...
    ... this little gem:

"For these tests, I used Sufix Siege 8-pound-test mono. Contrary to what the label says, the unknotted breaking strength of this line tested at 12.47 pounds."