Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Crappie fishing around Harrisburg

Salomonski3 Guest

Default Crappie fishing around Harrisburg

I am new to crappie fishing. Last fishing season i tried crappie fishing but did not have that much success. When the weather gets warmer (March/APRIL) i would like to try crappie fishing but do not know of any good places around. I also need advice on artificial or live bait to use. I live in the harrisburg area. Reply or Email me at [email protected]

Post Thanks / Like

Post crappie fishing arounf harrisburg

hello & welcome to crappie fishin from western pa. Big Zig lives on the east side of the state & makes & sells jigs!
    good luck!
    kermit
    HAPPY FISHIN Y'ALL

Post Thanks / Like

Welcome to the board Salomonski. You have good crappie fishing in any direction you head out of Harrisburg. My choice of best picks for the area would be: 1) Lake Marburg/Project 70
    2) Rose Valley Lake
    3) Maunch Chunk Lake
    4) Blue Marsh
    5) Pinchot Lake (Pinchot State Park)
    6) Holman Lake - I've never fished this body of water, but the net surveys show this lake may be a sleeper.

As far as lures, it's pretty much up to the individual. Jigs, live minnows, and small plastic baits (3/4 - 1.5") will get you bites just about anywhere. As rivercat said, I'm partial to jigs but won't turn down different approaches either. For the time frame you mentioned, March/April, I'll be fishing small fatheads under slip bobbers. Keep checking in on the site - we usually keep a running thread count of how we did and what we are gettin' 'em on.

I'm looking at Rose Valley for a spring get together for KCA(east). I think this is pretty much centralized for everyone - you're more then welcome. I'll post the particulars closer to the time.
    Each year I pick a body of water to concentrate on; 2005 will be Project 70 (Lake Marburg).