Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 2" plastic tube

Post Thanks / Like

Default 2" plastic tube

Is 2" plastic tube or any 2" plastic lure too big for crappie?

Thanks in advance.

Post Thanks / Like

Most of my jigs are 3"

Cray is offline Crappie.com 2019 Man of Year, Supermod & Moderator of the Mechanics Forum * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Just right most of the time. Like county I fish a lot of 3 in baits. Them fish eat bigger shad than that.
    Proud Member of Team Geezer
    Charlie Weaver USN/ENC 1965-1979

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks a lot. I am just learning about jigs. Looking at Strike King tube as this moment. I hope these tube work. I fish at stain/muddy water.

CrappiePappy is online now Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by GA ANGLER View Post
    Is 2" plastic tube or any 2" plastic lure too big for crappie?

Thanks in advance.
    Not hardly, no.

I caught a Crappie on a 4" plastic craw, and I've seen a Crappie caught on a 1oz Spinnerbait.

Also had a friend of my fishing partner tell us that he was catching Crappie on 3" twin tail grubs, a week before we went down to fish that lake. We didn't have anything that big, so we threw 1/16oz Roadrunners & caught fish.

People catch Crappie all the time with crankbaits, the body of which is generally 2-3" long (not counting the bill).

I use 1.5 to 2 inch plastics for most of my Crappie fishing (casting, trolling, Spider Rigging). A buddy of mine uses 2" plastic bodies on his jighead, then adds a large minnow on the hook (Spider Rigging). If you consider the lead head of the jig as another 1/2" of length, then you can see that the overall length of the baits can be from 2" to almost 4". And we both are subject to catching Crappie that aren't much longer than the baits we use .... including crankbaits