PDA

View Full Version : Pinpoint Gateway and MG Xi5 Question



BlueNitro
07-15-2015, 01:41 PM
Has anyone used the Pinpoint Gateway with their MG Xi5 and had it connected through your Lowrance for crappie fishing?

I recently purchased an MG Xi5 and have a Lowrance HD Touch 7 on the bow and a HDS Touch 9 on the console which I am thinking about connecting them together with the Gateway/NMEA 2000 system ($300+). Question is do you find the 'go to' (Autopilot) function to be accurate to put you right on the waypoint (brushpile) you selected? I can see the value of side-scanning an area, putting a waypoint on structure and then having the TM go to the marked waypoint for some fishing. Would also use the big motor to come within 50 yards of a pile and then let the TM do the rest without disturbing the pile. Is it accurate enough to do this?

okhawg
07-16-2015, 11:08 AM
Here is a post I did on the Xi5 before;

"Last week I was on the lake and twice I monitored it intently. I parked by trees for reference and the Xi5 kept me within 2-3' for 10+ minutes both times. In playing with it, I marked a waypoint by another stump then fished away from it. When I told it to go back to that waypoint (probably 30 yds away), it got within 5 feet".

The anchor seems to work better if you have some current or enough wind to keep the tail sort of straight.

Our water has been so high, I haven't been on the lake for 2 months, but so far I love this Xi5.

H8r Aid
07-18-2015, 10:31 AM
Mine puts me with in a few feet of the brush pile every time. I use side scan to find the piles and the just mark them like your talking about and it works great!!!!

Tom 513
07-19-2015, 06:09 PM
Has anyone used the Pinpoint Gateway with their MG Xi5 and had it connected through your Lowrance for crappie fishing?

I recently purchased an MG Xi5 and have a Lowrance HD Touch 7 on the bow and a HDS Touch 9 on the console which I am thinking about connecting them together with the Gateway/NMEA 2000 system ($300+). Question is do you find the 'go to' (Autopilot) function to be accurate to put you right on the waypoint (brushpile) you selected? I can see the value of side-scanning an area, putting a waypoint on structure and then having the TM go to the marked waypoint for some fishing. Would also use the big motor to come within 50 yards of a pile and then let the TM do the rest without disturbing the pile. Is it accurate enough to do this?
If You buy the gateway, please let Us know how You like it. I have the same exact set up, just adding the HDS 7 and 9 last week, had the boat on the water the first time last Friday and realized it would be best to learn a little each time I use the set up vs trying to learn all the functions right away, I described learning the new electronics as trying to take a drink from a fire hose! thanks for the post its very usefull to Me.