Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Need help picking a combo

Post Thanks / Like

Default Need help picking a combo

So im new to flyfishing, just learned how to do it over the summer while on vacation.

I loved it and now want to get a combo for Gills and maybe Bass.

So my first question is what weight I should get? I was thinking 4 or 5, but what do you guys think?

Second, What combo would you guys recommend me getting? I still consider myself a beginner, and since I won't be using it a whole lot. I'd like to keep it $80 or less.
    Since i'm only 14 and don't have money lying around and don't yet have a job, I plan on saving money till my birthday in the fall and practicing with my outfit over the winter.

Any recommendations/suggestions are greatly appreciated!

Post Thanks / Like

Cabela's Three Forks combo:

http://www.cabelas.com/product/Barga..._SEQ_105764580

For $69.99, it's a steal. Jump on it while it's on sale.

I'd get the 9' five-weight (4 piece), but the 8'6" five-weight (4 piece) would also be good.
    Likes KYfishing LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

The Cabela's outfit is a good one or you can find similar combos at BPS and might even see if LL Bean has one on sale. I bought my first combo from them. I would go with a 8 or 9 ft. 5 or 6 wt. If you decide to get into Bass fishing in heavier cover the 5 or 6 with the longer rod will be good but it handles poppers and flies for bream as well.
    Here is a good site to pick up a combo pack of bluegill flies. https://www.breambugs.com/

Some folks get too snooty about fly fishing. It can be done very effectively on an outfit costing less than a $100 and a dozen flies and poppers with give you all the fish and fun you could ever want. You may want to get into tying flies also. A real simple fly to tie is the Griffin Gnat and it will absolutely kill bluegill or any panfish.
    Just keep it simple and have fun.
    Mark 1:17 ...I will make you fishers of men