Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dual Battery setup for 12volt trolling motor??

Post Thanks / Like

Default Dual Battery setup for 12volt trolling motor??

Ok, I'm not an electrician by trade, so here is the question. I want to run two deep cycle batteries together on either the trolling motor or as a starting battery for the motor, both of which are 12volt. What are the pros and cons and the the correct pattern to hook it up. I believe Pos. to Pos and Neg. to Neg. and I should have a 2 battery, 12 volt battery bank. I should never have to worry about the engine not having enough juice to start. Ideas.

Barnacle Bill is offline Super Mod and 2014 Crappie.com Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

We have been using this set up on my buddies boat for years with no problem. He has a Merc 25 on it so it doesn't take much current to start it. It is best tho if the batteries are the same type and age.
    Fair Winds and Following Seas

Bill H. PTC USN Ret
    Chesapeake, Va

Post Thanks / Like

I run my batteries for the trolling motor on my bass boat in parallel. Run a cable from pos to pos & one from neg to neg just like you said. I hook the pos lead from the TM to one battery & the neg lead to the other although I don't think it matters much.

I don't see how doing this could help any as a cranking system for the motor. Running them in parallel, you still only end up with 12v just as if you only had one battery. The BIG difference is that with a trolling motor, it is pulling a little off each of the parallel batteries giving you a longer run time. With one battery, I can bass fish for about 8 hours, with the parallel set-up, I can run it for 2 + days before draing them.

Post Thanks / Like