Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Discouraged Spider Rigging Beginner

Post Thanks / Like

Default Discouraged Spider Rigging Beginner

Hi Everyone,

I posted this on the TN forum as well for lake specific info, but I wanted to post here as well. I realize folks outside of Mid-TN won't be able to comment or advise on the lake, but you may have general summer time vertical trolling advice.

Thanks

Original Post:

"Hi everyone, I am still new to the mid-tn area as well as Old Hickory Lake. I'm also a beginner at trying to spider rig/vertical troll. This past week I was able to fish 3 separate times early morning before it got super hot. I figured crappie would be in deeper water near creek channels and drops.

I fished all over the cedar creek channel and on drop edges in 12-28 FOW. We caught 2 keeper crappie and those were the only crappie we caught.

I am seeing brush/structure and fish suspended around 12-15 ft deep. Am I on the right track here as far as general area and water depths for this time of year (85 degree wt)?

I am using double jig rigs w 1/2 -3/4 oz egg sinkers in between 2 1/16 oz jigs. I've got my jigs spaced about 2-3 ft apart. I've tried about ever color I own.

If I had to guess, I think I'm fishing too shallow and too fast. Here is why: today I had 12-14 ft of line pulled off my trolling rods. I tried to keep the boat in 16-22 FOW bc this seems to be where I mark more fish. 2 different times this morning I quickly came up on shallower flats or humps. The shallowest was only 8 FOW. My baits never even bumped the bottom. I was shocked. This whole time I was confident my baits were running 10-12 ft deep, right above the majority of the fish I am marking. In reality, I think they may have been running more like 6-8 ft deep. My TM is a 5 speed and on my lowest speed into a head wind I pull about .9mph. I guess w this speed and the line and weight resistance my baits are riding up much higher than I thought.