Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Best plastic structure questions

soonerfan Guest

Default Best plastic structure questions

I am very new at all of this Crappie fishing stuff and I have a few questions. How do I keep the plastic in place while the quickcrete cures? How many pieces makes a good structure, is there a best height? What are the best depths to place them. I have a camp at Toledo Bend, it has many depth ranges with the average of 60'.

Post Thanks / Like

Put your plastic whatever your going to use in a five gallon bucket and let it cure. Give it 2 days. I use up to 12 pieces of pvc pipe in mine. Also you can use 1 gallon milk jugs and cut a hole up near the top but leave the handle. fill with concrete and then stick about 4 pieces of pvc in it. Also you can go towards the top of the page and do a search on pvc and you should get all kinds of info. CF
    The Original Woodsgoat Hater
    2011 NWR Bash Yellow Perch Champion

Post Thanks / Like

Oh yeah, make sure you fill the bucket about half full with concrete. About 10 to 12 inches deep at least so it will easily hold your pipe up as it cures. About 5 to 6 feet is about as high as you wanna go with these. CF

Post Thanks / Like

Hey there Soonerfan, Crappiefarmer is right on on his reply. The only thing that I might add is to make sure to space your PVC apart enough that the crappie can get in and around them. 12 pieces to a 5 gallon bucket would be plenty.

A tip would be to cut the bucket down shorter to allow the PVC to spread more. I've heard of people using small shallow plastic wash pans also.
    CATCH A BIG-UN

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by slabbandit
    Hey there Soonerfan, Crappiefarmer is right on on his reply. The only thing that I might add is to make sure to space your PVC apart enough that the crappie can get in and around them. 12 pieces to a 5 gallon bucket would be plenty.