Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Fishing with long crappie poles

Post Thanks / Like

Default Fishing with long crappie poles

Fellows, this may be a dumb question but I am new to this long pole crappie fishing. Say for instance you are fishing a 14 foot pole and you are fishing three feet deep. How do you go about getting the fish in the boat without lifting him completely out of the water. I'd assume that you'd have to pull enough drag with your hand to give him enough line to pull him across the top of the water into the net. The problem I was having last year was that I wanted to lift the rod straight up and when I did I'd lift the crappie out of the water and he would pull off. These long crappie poles are a booger until you learn how to use them. Thanks for any tips.
    Thank God I'm A Country Boy !!!!!

Post Thanks / Like

Hey Hawkeye:

I've not used a 14-foot pole but use a 12-footer. When they are real shallow - in 3-feet of water or less - I usually still keep about 6-feet of line out as long as there aren't any overhead obstructions and I stand on my front deck which gives me some added height for flipping the jig out as far as possible and enough room to keep the fish in the water while bringing it to the boat.

When I get a bite I set the hook to the side rather than straight up and drag the fish under water all the way around the front of the boat and net it if it's networthy or lift it if it's not - on the other side of he boat.

This keeps it from splashing around close to where I hooked it and possibly spooking other fish nearby. Long poles do take some getting used to but once you do it's hard to go back to shorter poles.
    FISH ON!
    Jerry Blake

www.BLAKETOURS.com

Post Thanks / Like

Default long poles