Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Questions for the experienced

Post Thanks / Like

Default Questions for the experienced

I’m a relative newbie to crappie fishing (been trying to figure it out for the past five years or so). I’m trying to understand better how to fish for pre-spawn crappie. I like to fish at North Mississippi Reservoirs and have numerous tops located on my GPS unit. I fish those submerged tops from pre-spawn in early spring throughout the summer and fall, until the lakes are drawn down to winter pool depths.

My question pertains to fishing those tops for pre-spawn crappie (while the Corp of Engineers is allowing the lakes to fill back toward summer pool). The tops I target during the pre-spawn are around 8-12 feet deep and water is murky/muddy as rainfall fills the lakes. My questions:

1. If I move close enough to see a top on my bow mounted fishfinder, place a marker buoy and then back away to tightline fish the top, am I probably spooking crappie in tops at those depths? If so, how long should it take for all the fish to return to the top?
    2. Is it better to stay back away from those tops and cast a jig under float to where I think the top is located?

I prefer to tightline with a jig pole (addicted to the thump when they hit the jig) but am afraid I may be spooking some of the crappie while in process of locating their top. On occasions when I have anchored away from tops and located them by casting, I seem to catch more fish from a single top. Problem is that I haven’t done this enough to answer my question.

Any advice on this matter would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks…Dan

Post Thanks / Like