Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Do you favor smaller jigs?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Do you favor smaller jigs?

I keep reading people mention small jigs. What is your thinking on that? If you use, say, 1/64 oz jig, are you tight-lining or using a cork? What lb. test line and what type line? I am no expert crappie fisherman but I think my jigs are mostly 1/16th oz. Hmmm... if I went to 1/32, that is half the weight. If I went to 1/64, that is 1/4 the weight! I am wondering how I would fish a jig that light. Interesting!
    ~~~
    Bill

Post Thanks / Like

I use 1/32 jig heads when dock shooting and when using float and fly. I think the slower fall helps. It would definitely keep the lure in the strike zone longer and to me that's what you want to happen. I do step up to 1/16 and 1/8 ounce heads when I am casting jigs and conditions are windy so that I can feel the jig and detect a bite. I have some of the Bobby Garland Slab Docktors** maybe that's how its spelled that I will likely use on a 1/16 head because of the bulk of the bait. I have fished their crappie spiders on a 1/32 head and they fall very slow. They worked well on finicky fish that didn't want to bite. I learned to love the slow fall of a bait fishing Mister Twister Slimmy Slug for bass. Only the weight of the hook to carry the bait down. They couldn't stand it.
    The love for fishing is one of the best gifts you can pass along
    Likes theygotaeat LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Ive been using mostly 1/16 and 1/32 oz heads for just about everything. 1/8 oz would be for very windy/choppy/high current times (1/8 is about the smallest Id go for smallmouth fishing as well)? I mostly fish single or double rigs under a cork or slip float. I use all 6lb mono right now for all my crappie fishing.

Post Thanks / Like

1/32 oz and 4# test line for everything except trolling.

Post Thanks / Like