Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Could have been worse

Post Thanks / Like

Default Could have been worse

Okay guys I thought it would be applicable for me to share my mistake that happened to me yesterday. I've been pouring soft plastics for over five years but that in no way makes me an expert. I started soft plastics through tackle underground many experts there and always everybody talked about precautions needed to be taken at all times. Horror stories pictures of people making mistakes and getting burned badly always through the red flag for me to always wear proper clothing gloves etc.well yesterday afternoon I made a mistake and I paid for it so I just wanted to share it with you guys because I care about everybody on the site and how much you guys have help me and now I want to show everyone that is beginners here what can happen if you're not careful.for whatever reason and I honestly cannot tell you I remove my gloves I think it was to pick up a screw or something tiny and forgot to put my gloves back on. I was sticking my spoon in the cup of hot plastisol that had the top skin covering the top of the cup ( the skin of unheated plastic) when I plunged the spoon thought the unheated skin,the plastic burped back out of Pyrex cup, on my hand and gave me a 2nd° burns. I love this hobbie but it is very dangerous and needs to be respected no matter what level of manufactor you are! I'm fine but lesson learned! Please a note to all beginners read all you can wear GLOVES and long sleeves ! Amen! Later LB
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Post Thanks / Like

Been there. And yes, wear gloves....making sure there are no holes in them. I have a finger just recovering, from something like what you show, when hot plastic found its way into a small hole. I use a knitting needle to pop those skin bubbles or should I say that I use the needle to pull the skin off to the side so the liquid plastic can rise up.

Post Thanks / Like