Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: bank fishing advice

Post Thanks / Like

Default bank fishing advice

I'm pretty new to crappie fishin so any advice is great. I don't have a boat so how should I go about fishin for them from the bank? Really I guess I need all the info I can get.

RCC is offline Crappie.com Legend and Arkansas Moderator
    Post Thanks / Like

Find a nice 6 1/2 to 7ft spinning rod and reel. Get familiar with a slip-bobber set up. Take a bucket of minners and some #2 gold hooks and a small split shot and work the water where you fish at different depths. Hook the minnow just below the dorsal fin in the back so the minnow can swim under the float. The end of dams at lakes are good because usually there is a big transition from deep to shallow at those points. Smaller waters such as ditches, rivers, or canals can be good also. Bridges are good because they have some good man made structure, the pilings, that will usually be holding some type of fish. Bank fishing should be picking up as the water warms.
    RCC's Crappie Eradication Service
    Eliminating your slab problems one fish at a time
    For free estimates give us a call at O U 812.

Post Thanks / Like

I have a couple 6 1/2 medium action spinning rods and a 10 foot ultra light. I know how to do a slip bobber rig. Is it better to start shallow and move the bait deeper or other way around? Seems like I've heard crappie look up

RCC is offline Crappie.com Legend and Arkansas Moderator
    Post Thanks / Like

When I've bank fished the local water, we started shallow and worked deep. I don't know if this is the best way or not.
    RCC's Crappie Eradication Service
    Eliminating your slab problems one fish at a time
    For free estimates give us a call at O U 812.

Post Thanks / Like