Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Bank fishing in cold water

Post Thanks / Like

Default Bank fishing in cold water

Hi everybody. It's been awhile since I've posted but I'd like to say thanks for all the help I've gotten here. Got into crappie fishing last year (one of the few from Utah) and had a blast! However, my knowledge is still pretty limited so I've only had success in the spring. I guess my main question is...Is it possible to have success bank fishing in the winter or early spring months? Water temps around here are in the mid 40's but starting to rise. I'm a college student so obviously have no funds for a boat. From what I've read, the fish are in deeper water this time of year so I was wondering if its possible to reach them from shore. Any input would be appreciated. Thanks

Post Thanks / Like

Taylor; Try fishing on the north side as it will be the first most of the time to warm up. Also most of the time water around a dam will be the deepest and they sometimes have rocks on them that will draw fish. Now if your casting there are ways to cast a little farther by using a adjusting slip cork with a heavier lead using minnows or jigs. Or maybe casting roadrunners in the deeper water and retrieving them very slowly. You will want to fish what ever you decide to use as slow as possible because the crappie this time of year when it is cold are slow to respond and bite. I hope this helped you. Just don't get discouraged as for this time of year I don't catch fish good either. Be safe and good luck fishing
    Likes Taylor5 LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

I appreciate the advice scrat. I'll see what I can do!

Post Thanks / Like

Don't over look bridges. Most pilings are within casting distance from shore, they have rip rap. They are also a funnel ( on a reservoir) that concentrates fish and what they feed on.
    The love for fishing is one of the best gifts you can pass along
    Likes NIMROD LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like