Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Spider Rigging - Getting Hung Up?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Spider Rigging - Getting Hung Up?

I am fairly new to the concept of spider rigging and have not actually attempted it yet. I am modding my 15' flat bottom and plan to put a couple of spider rig rod holders. Not sure about trolling and spider rigging, but I like the idea to use the rod holders even when anchored and casting out to a honey hole.

My question: when you are spider rigging while trolling or drifting over cover, do you get your hook hung up a lot? If so, any tips or suggestions on how to avoid this or unhook quickly to avoid a mess with 6-8 poles?

I can just see me slowly drifting over some wood and one pole gets hung up, the next thing I know I'm trying to make my trolling motor zig and its zagging, poles are wrapping around other poles, and the fish are just laughing at me...
    Likes rtsj LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

Those are the things that happen- that teach you how to do the things you need to learn to do to be successful. BEWARE! Once the spider bites you - its over! Good luck.

"I just can't fish with one pole anymore"
    Black Fish Crappie Charters
    www.blackdoghuntingclub.com
    Likes moskeeter56, Tom 513 LIKED above post

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

I'm just getting into "true" spider rigging, myself. Got a 14' & a couple of borrowed 13' rods that I'm going to rig up and try, just to see if I'll like it .... over using 7'-10' rods @ a 45-90deg angle & just drifting/easing around a spot, like I've been doing.