Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Broke old crappie rod. In the market for new rod?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Broke old crappie rod. In the market for new rod?

Hello, all,

I was fishing with my son the other day and my rod got broke on my boat. I am trying to decide what rod type I would need to get. I am fairly new to crappie fishing and I see a lot of rods 8-14 feet. I have never used anything that long and was wondering the benefit of a rod that long. I cast jigs 95% of the time. What pole brand and length. do you recommend for this technique.

thanks in advance,

justin

jackie53 is offline Crappie.com Legend * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

We have B&M,Ozark,Crappiemax.(Bass Pro) just bought two Wally Marshall singature series in the 9 ft and 10 ft model in Med lite.Most of the long crappie rods are not made for casting.These rods have the bigger eyes for casting.Great rods at a good price.Name:  0123151516-00.jpg
Views: 1123
Size:  46.9 KB
    John 3:16
    Blessed to have as many friends as fingers on your hand is a blessing!!!
    "Gone fish'n not wish'n"
    In God We Trust.
    Can God trust us.

Post Thanks / Like

Justin,

Wow, that is like asking the age old Ford vs. Chevy debate!

You didn't say what size jigs you cast however, I would assume it to be in the 1/32 to 1/8 oz or so catagory. I would look at something in a light weight fast action rod around the 7 to 7.5 foot class. It will throw a small jig quite a long ways. Longer rods are great for dipping brush and lilly pads, pushing and pulling jigs and cranks, or casting a slip rig.