Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: RoadRunner

Post Thanks / Like

Default RoadRunner

I am very new to the fishing sport. I really enjoy it! What is the proper way to use the roadrunners. I strickly bank fish. No access to any boats. Thanks

Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Greg_Mathis; 08-27-2014 at 07:43 PM. Reason: add picture

DrNip is offline Crappie.com 3K Star General * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Don't know if there is a wrong way to use it. Put a plastic on it and put it in the water.

Post Thanks / Like

What type of lure would you put on it?

CrappiePappy is online now Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Greg ... according to the "advertisement", you can't fish them wrong ... as long as you fish them slow.

Now, taking out the obvious PR hype in that statement ... I'm a believer that you CAN fish them too slow. Once you slow the retrieve down to a certain point, the blade stops spinning and tucks itself under the body or just "flutters", rather than spins. At that point, IMHO, you're not really using a "Roadrunner" ... but, just a jig. Now, that may be a harsh assessment ... but, that's my opinion on the matter.

I've seen people catch Crappie "vertical jigging" with Roadrunners, but I've caught them in the same area by using regular jigs (jig head with plastic body) ... so I'm not convinced that's the optimum method for this bait.