Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Finding Fish but mostly throw backs...

Post Thanks / Like

Default Finding Fish but mostly throw backs...

Hey guys I was wondering if you can answer something for me.

I fish a private stocked lake and I'm aware that the weather and heat play a role in this.

But why is it that I can find crappies usually catch around 12-15 each time I go out (from shore, I don't own a boat...YET). I fish around structure, docks and piers. I have yet to be stumped (knock on wood) but why is it that 99% of the fish I catch are throw backs?

I do everything I can to change it up color, presentation, depth. Since I am a beginner crappie fisherman I don't understand why I can find fish just not decent size fish.

I would say from the beginning until now I have caught around 100 total and only 10 have been over 9"

Is there a logical reason for this?

I guess catching any fish is better than no fish

Post Thanks / Like

How big is the lake? Maybe there are to many crappies in the lake and they are stunted? We have a few lakes around here where they are stunted and it's a miracle to catch 1 over 10" but with the introduction of northern pike and Muskie the size seems to be going up just harder to find the fish now
    Likes NIMROD LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

probably an overcrowded condition. If the owner doesn't mind, keep the 8 inchers too. Not a lot of meat unless they are blacks and in good condition but I have eaten a lot of crappie that size and they taste reallllll gooodd!

Post Thanks / Like

This is a large lake home to northern pike, Muskie, Walleye. If I ventured to guess I would say it's not an over crowded issue. The lake is monitored by our "Fishing Club" and is located inside a gated community. We actually have three lakes.

The he club raises funds to stock and monitor the local fish.

Post Thanks / Like

Here is an image of the size....
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Post Thanks / Like