Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rock pile location?

Post Thanks / Like

Talking Rock pile location?

Have a new lake 6 months old stocked with 1000 coppernose / redear 800/200 mix in feb this year along with 50# fathead minnows previous put 300 4-5" black crappie... Caught 50 1 lb + - coppernose from neighbors lake to jump start spawning for crappie cannon fodder... I have about 1 acre of flooded timber on fair weather creek ( runs about 6 months) also have placed cedar trees around in 3-10 ' water..question is what depth do I place a rock pile when the lake is still about 5' from full.... Do I put it in 3-5' now for fish to use now or wait till lake is full

Cray is offline Crappie.com 2019 Man of Year, Supermod & Moderator of the Mechanics Forum * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

I put mine at the edge of water where it has 3/4 ft over it now. Seems to get a lot of activity during spawning. But I am far from a expert on pond or lake management.
    Proud Member of Team Geezer
    Charlie Weaver USN/ENC 1965-1979

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks Cray will try it

Post Thanks / Like

I dont mean to go off subject,but what are coppernose??? and good luck with pond/lake

Post Thanks / Like

Coppernose are bream that get up to 1-1/2 -2lbs. Thanks really excited to get catchable going

Post Thanks / Like

Black crappie LOVE to spawn on rock. If it is 5' low, I would put it right around the banks edge, because blacks also spawn and congregate shallower then whites.

Post Thanks / Like

Filletfetish thanks for the info on rocks for spawning. Do you think I should put the pile in 5' water now or hope it rains and fills up some this fall, no guarantee of much rain.

Post Thanks / Like