Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Swift Water Anchoring Tips

Post Thanks / Like

Default Swift Water Anchoring Tips

Ive spent the last couple of weekends below the Guntersville Dam catfishing. Each time we were motoring up pretty close to the dam and then drifting while bumping the bottom. While the method has worked and yielded fish, we noticed we caught 75% of our fish in one spot. I'd like to anchor over it but I have no experience anchoring other than using mushroom anchors in the lake to fight slight wind.

I'd appreciate some advice or links to websites which may help. With what I have researched so far, it seems to me the best setup for the Guntersville Dam is a grapple anchor with a slip ring and chain lead due to the slightly rocky bottom. Maybe I'm wrong though. I am still totally in the dark on how to deploy it in the current and retrieval options. First and foremost I want to be safe. While cutting off an anchor would suck, I'd do it if necessary.

TIA guys.

Post Thanks / Like

You are totally right on the type anchor. Need a lot of rope and drop the anchor upstream a good ways. Allow it to catch and feed line till you reach your spot. I personally use my I pilot, it work well in tail races and swift water.

Post Thanks / Like

In the ocean we use aluminum grapples so they will bend if needed. A perfectly placed grapple in rocks will never come out

NIMROD is offline Crappie.com Legend - Kids Corner Moderator
    Post Thanks / Like

Add a jug so if you have to cut it loose it can be retrieved. Longer rope helps as the angle keeps anchor on the bottom.
    Moderator of Beginners n Mentoring forum
    Takeum Jigs

Cray is offline Crappie.com 2019 Man of Year, Supermod & Moderator of the Mechanics Forum * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like