Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trolling Crankbait help

dallman is offline Trophy King II * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Trolling Crankbait help

I'm trolling and pushing crankbaits. I am fishing on Kentucky Lake in the Eagle Creek area. I haven't found any crappie. Tried lots of colors and depths. I'm going over the bait balls at 1.7 mph using a 80lb terrova on cruise. I have caught more than my fair share of Gar a couple of 5 lb bass, etc. No catfish as of yet. I have been working outside the creek on the flats in 18 to 35 foot of water. I have tried trolling slower and only once did I try 2.0 and excited the Gar. Is it early for trolling? This is my first year trying this. I'm using counting reels and 10lb pound yellow power pro braid.
    Is the any hints for finding them on the flats? I would appreciate any hints.
    Retired USN

Post Thanks / Like

It's not early for trolling. You need sonar to find the drop offs and ledges along old riverbeds as well as structure close to them. Find any type of structure and troll back and forth at different depths or multiple rods at different depths to find them. If you want to find them on the flats there is usually some type of rocks or shallow holes or weeds they hang around. You again must use a sonar to find structure like these. You could spend all day trolling without a sonar but it will take you all day to find them!
    USAF Retired and fishing!

Post Thanks / Like