Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Homemade marker buoy ideas?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Homemade marker buoy ideas?

I've never used marker buoys before but wish I had some this weekend. I'm a bit of a tinkerer and wanted to make some instead of buying. Thought that with all the knowledge on this board, someone has probally done some trial and error with homemade buoys. I'm thinking of useing some left over pvc, putting end caps on and attatch some line and weight. Small enough to stash but large enough to see in the water. Any thoughts of something better?

Post Thanks / Like

save some swim noodles like kids use in pools swimming. They are made out of styrofoam. Cut into sections. I'll use a grinder and notch out a groove for the line to lay. Then tie some left over fishing line around it and tie a 2 ounce sinker on for your weight. Oh yeah, stick a couple of nails in it. One on each end on the same "side". This will throw the bouy out of balance and will make it stop spinning once your weight hits bottom. I use swim noodles for a lot of things. I put my capps and coleman rigs on small pieces and use them like leader wheels. I also make small marker bouys with them and go around and find all my brushpiles up a creek before I fish them and drop a marker. I make them small enough that they look like a piece of trash on the water and people just ignore them. even other anglers. Then I go back to my first spot and start fishing and I can quickly fish the area because my spots are already marked. Works good. CF
    The Original Woodsgoat Hater
    2011 NWR Bash Yellow Perch Champion
    Likes Tyson Brown LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like