Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My First Fish Cleaning & Fish Identification

Post Thanks / Like

Lightbulb My First Fish Cleaning & Fish Identification

Not sure if this is the place for this post, but...

I caught a few fish today, pictured below. I'm guessing they are shellcrackers? I'm new to fishing so I have no clue.

I also decided that since I caught about 10 of them to keep 2 of the bigger ones and try my hand at cleaning a fish. I watched hour upon hour of youtube videos to get my learning started.

I also wanted to confirm the fish species, and see if I can eat it or if there are any signs not to eat it. I caught it in a lake 30 minutes outside of Washington DC, so I'm a little sketched out.

Also pictured my cleaning. I feel like I did a good job filleting the one side of the fish, but i had a little trouble on the second side of the fish. Any thoughts on how my filleting looks?

Thanks!

Name:  fishy.jpg
Views: 594
Size:  63.3 KB

Name:  fishcut2.jpg
Views: 571
Size:  32.3 KBName:  fishcut.jpg
Views: 545
Size:  33.6 KB

Hmm, why are the pics so small.
    "SHUT UP AND FISH!" - Wisdom Cube

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Pictures are fine, size is fine (they may look small when putting them in the message, but they'll show bigger when you actually post them).

I would ID that fish as a Redear Sunfish (aka Shellcracker). You just need to check your state regs to make sure on size, creel limit, or other regulations (like specific lake regs) that may apply.

Can't say anything about your cleaning skills ... I've been filleting fish for decades, with an electric knife, and I can still butcher a side or two every now & then. SO, there's no telling how bad I'd tear up a filet with a regular filet knife.

... cp

Eagle 1 is offline Crappie.com Legend and Mississippi Moderator
    Post Thanks / Like