Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: New To Crappie Fishing Have Located Fish But No Success?

Post Thanks / Like

Default New To Crappie Fishing Have Located Fish But No Success?

Hey y'all. I am new to crappie fishing and have just started because one of my buddies introduced me to a new spot that he has been catching them at from a rock bank. He told me to use a slip bobber minnow rig that is only about 15 inches in length because the fish are in real shallow water. I have been out 3 times in the past week and I've been skunked every time. At about 0900, I can see crappie slash up against the rocks chasing grass shrimp and minnows but I can't seem to get a bite. Any suggestions? I have tried using grass shrimp, minnows, and jigs.

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Guy ... you might post this question over on the Calf. state forum, if you don't get any answers here.

... cp

Post Thanks / Like

Make sure to not make any big splashes with your cork or bobber when casting to shallow areas. Use a light bobber and light weight or jig to get your bait near the shallow and drag it through the area you want to fish.
    Also, make sure the areas have some sort of structure or drop off near by as the females will hang out close to the shallows in these areas waiting to spawn in the shallows where the males hang out. They will bite better sometimes than the males in the beds. Try different jigs and colors. Don't be disappointed. Try new depths and new bait as well. Shrimp, shad, jigs, wax worms etc. will all do good.
    USAF Retired and fishing!

Post Thanks / Like