Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fluorescent line question

Post Thanks / Like

Default Fluorescent line question

First off let me say howdy to everyone, I've been lurking in the shadows for about a yr and even though I'm pretty computer illiterate I decided it was time to jump in. I've been a resident of the Lake of the Ozarks for the last 57 yrs. grew up and raised in a fishing resort my parents owned from the late 50's to the early 70's right next to the Grand Glaize Bridge so I know the Glaize somewhat , I don't get to fish as much as I'd like these days but while the big boats are still docked I do sneak out from time to time.

Anyway, with all that a side, I've always been leary of fluorescent line spooking fish but as age has it, my eyes just don't see that clear mono as good as they use to. Do you that use Fluorescent yellow line think it has much effect on spooking fish? I'd sure like to hear your throughts before respooling. Thanks

Bladesmith
    www.billbuxtonknives.com
    Likes south point LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

All I use. If you're worried, some tie on a clear leader. I don't, and its never been a problem. I'm a line watcher, so I need the hi-vis line.

BTW Welcome to the Board

Post Thanks / Like

Welcome to the board, Bladesmith....

As wharfrat said, you can tie on a leader of mono if it makes you feel better. Or, if you use braided line, you can use a sharpie to color the last few feet of line black. Some say you shouldn't have to worry about it unless you're fishing in really really clear water. If you're fishing stained water, the fish won't notice.