Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Technique for season

Post Thanks / Like

Default Technique for season

As a rule of thumb what technique should I focus on for each time of year?

Shooting, jigging, trolling...

I know it can and will change often but since I'm new to focusing on crappie the information I get from whoever will reply will give me good info to build my knowledge on.

Post Thanks / Like

I cast jigs year round. There is no "season" for it, IMO.

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Inthehollar View Post
    As a rule of thumb what technique should I focus on for each time of year?

Shooting, jigging, trolling...

I know it can and will change often but since I'm new to focusing on crappie the information I get from whoever will reply will give me good info to build my knowledge on.
    First things first :

You need to find out the location & depth of the fish, in accordance with how the fish (in the lakes you fish) are affected by the different seasons. THEN choose the method that most easily presents the bait to those fish .... at the location & depth they're at, and at the speed which will provoke them into biting the bait.

The conditions which you are faced with, will also determine what method is most efficient. You wouldn't really want to spider rig or troll through an area of closely grouped standing trees ... but, vertical jigging, casting, or tightlining among them would be options to consider. Conversely, you wouldn't want to be casting to fish that were deep in open water ... when spider rigging, trolling, or vertical jigging would be better options.