Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: need help approaching a body of water

tschneider Guest

Default need help approaching a body of water

Hello all,

I new to the board as a poster. Been lurking for some time now trying to understand the misterious crappie. I have been trying to find some information but using the search function does not always turn up the results you are looking for. I am having trouble finding crappies on a particular body of water. Some would call it a pond but I call it a mini lake. It is close to 30 acres. Sorry for the long post but I figured the more info the better.

Here is the situation:

I have been fishing this body of water for 2 years now and it has some good crappie that I have been lucky to find here and there. The avg depth is only 3 feet and the deepest is only 8 or 9 feet. I was able to find the fish like I mentioned from time to time but that was when the lake had a consistant weed growth. Well whoever maintains this body of water thought it would be a good idea to kill off all of the weeds. Ever since they did that It has been slim pick-ins. The weeds have come back a little but not like they once were. I only have access to this lake from shore (no boats allowed). I always throw a jig tipped with a minnow under a bobber. I used to have ok success by just chucking it out as far as i could and slowly bringing it back in until I stumbled onto some fish. I am looking to find some information on where these fish might be holding so I can make a better approach.

How would you approach a body of water like this. Your help is greatly appreciated. If you have any follow up questions let me know.

Lake Info:
    close to 30 Acres
    located in northern indiana
    scattered weeds with no timber in sight
    avg depth 2 to 3 feet
    one long rocky shore where the spillway is maybe 100ft long
    three small coves but really just large cuts with depths only 1 or 2 feet.

*takes deep breath* ok that is it.......:D