Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hi Viz line versus Clear

Post Thanks / Like

Default Hi Viz line versus Clear

I know this is a subject discussed many times. Sorry but I am just starting to do more crappie fishing than bass fishing so I am still learning. I was at the fishing show yesterday talking to a guide on Percy Priest Lake which is a fairly clear and heavy pressured water lake. Not as clear as center hill or dale hollow but not as stained as old hickory. The guide said he would never use high viz line. He only uses clear line. I have about 8 rods now rigged with yellow hi viz line. When I go to percy to crappie fish, I will be thinking the whole time that the line is effecting the bite. Maybe it will be me effecting the bite but I will have that in my mind. I am CONSIDERING going back to clear on the rods but I sure like me being able to see the hi viz line better. Does the high viz line effect fishing on lakes like Percy Priest in Nashville? There is a lot of fishing pressure on that lake.

PawPaw Gene is offline Crappie.com 2012 Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

If you think it will make a difference, then it will make a difference. Your confidence level will be way down. So use the best of both worlds. Attache a leader of clear to the end of the hi-viz line and you'll be all set.
    "gene"
    "G" Gone but not forgotten!!
    Likes Gindog, thereheis, ehall, BoarBuster LIKED above post

Post Thanks / Like

When i started to mainly crappie fish instead of bass fish i was using 4 lb florocarbon line and felt that i would have the advantage over others because of the line clarity. This worked for a few years until i started fishing with a friend who had crappie fished for years. He was using hi-vis yellow mr crappie 4 lb line. I told him that line would spook the fish in the clear reseivors we were fishing.