Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Suggestions for a newbie?

StartNFromScratch Guest

Question Suggestions for a newbie?

I'm new to Crappie fishing and have been away from fishing all together for quite a while.

I want to try Crappie fishing cause I've heard they're fun to catch as well as good to eat.

My 5 yr old son wants to fish and I would like us to have some success so he'll want to go back. (It sounds like a good dad/son activity.)

I plan on fishing the shoreline at Smithville lake, probably starting at the end of Dec. '04 or beginning of Jan. '05.

I'd appreciate any info you could give me.

Thanks

Post Thanks / Like

First, I'd like to invite you to the KC Sport Show(see posts). I will give you very good info to get started. The advise I could give you now is, go to the WW bridge. Cast 1/16 oz jigs to the bridge pillars. Let it drop and watch your line. If it twitches, set the hook. You might also use slip-bobbers set at 15ft. Good luck. Hope to see you at the show! <*)}}}><
    You'll see the difference,,,on the end of your line! PROUD MEMBER OF ​TEAM GEEZER

Post Thanks / Like

Glad to see that you joined up and getting into crappie fishing. I dont know anything about Smithville lake so I cant help you there. A good and easy way to get a kid into crappie fishing, would be with a cork and minnow. Look for brush piles in 15ft-20ft of water. Use a slip bobber with a bobber stop, set it at 10 to 12 feet. And that should produce a bite. It would better if you could get into a private pond, fishing lake can be hit and miss at times. Also there are a select few public lakes that are for kids to fish only. Which are suppose to be better stocked, I remember one when I was growing up in Lawrence, KS. There might be some heated docks on Smithville, like there down at Lake Ozarks. Its pretty cold right now to be outside for a long period of time, especially for a young kid. Hope you luck
    Ted