Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Question about jigs tipped with minnows

Post Thanks / Like

Default Question about jigs tipped with minnows

I am pretty new to crappie fishing, so I'm learning a bit. My go to is always plastics and I actually never really favor live bait like minnows or mealworms. My main reasoning is that it seems like the bluegills always get to the live bait before any crappie does. Am I doing something wrong? I see people saying they'll tip a highly visible jighead with a minnow and I always wonder how that setup attracts fish being it exposes a bit of the hook shank and doesn't seem very natural. Are there any pointers or things I may be missing? Any little tricks to keep the bluegills from winning the war under the water? Thanks!

Post Thanks / Like

The water I catch crappie in does not have gills were I fish. The crappie are normally suspended in deep water and I have never caught a gill in that type of fishing. I am fairly new to crappie fishing from a boat myself. I have never had much luck in shallow water for crappie yet, that's were I look for gills right now. The crappie will be soon moving to shallow water and then it may be a battle between the two then. Gills that will take a crappie minnow are usually worth keeping anyway!
    Keep them poles bent and the boat right side up! LOL

Post Thanks / Like

I have seen many small bluegills come out with some nice minnows and as many times as I see it, I still am a little shocked, but the bluegills are pretty prevalent in my home lakes.

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Dmancari18 View Post