Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Finding fish with side imaging

Post Thanks / Like

Default Finding fish with side imaging

Guys I was just wondering if you only fish structure that you see fish on with side imaging or all good structure? Also wondering if you only fish where you see fish with your electronics or you fish random spots?

Post Thanks / Like

For crappie, I want to see them on the sonar most of the time.....there are exceptions, such as when they are right on the bottom.

If fishing for other species, you may not always be able to see the fish....such as when fishing big rocks or boulders. Walleye can usually be seen on si and often just off the bottom with regular sonar.

Post Thanks / Like

I use both,
    if I'm already there and I've caught there in the past, I will spend 5 minutes there, I'm still learning my system.
    next time, if I know brush is on my right, I will use si on right, to scan, di makes me go right over the brush

rnvinc is offline Crappie.com 2016 Man of the Year * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

Sometimes fish are difficult to discern in SI for the simple fact that the image ratio is so much smaller in the SI image...

This is largely determined by the SI range setting....scanning farther out to the sides requires the the unit to "squash" more data into the same size screen ....making individual echo returns even smaller...

This can be overcome to a certain degree by scanning shorter ranges or scanning 1 side only ...which, in effect, allows the unit to "spread" the data out across the display more ...making individual echo returns larger ...and easier to pick out...

One idea is to find structure using the SI and set a waypoint on it...then reposition the boat to effectively fish the structure with the 2d sonar or the DI sonar...