Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Fishing With Jigs?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Fishing With Jigs?

I'M FAIRLY NEW TO FISHING DESPITE MY 52 YEARS. I'VE CAUGHT A FEW CRAPPIE WITH MINNOWS BUT NOTHING WITH JIGS. HOW ARE YOU SUPPOSE TO FISH A JIG? I HAVE SEVERAL COLORS OF JIGS AND TWO DIFFERENT PANFISH ASSASSIN'S, ARE THEY SUPPOSED TO BE FISHED LIKE JIGS?

Post Thanks / Like

I use jigs for the majority of my fishing. I usually cast them out and countdown to the depth I think the fish are at and slowly retrieve. For something with a waggly tail like a slider/pan assassin a slow swim-like retrieve will get the most strikes. I also troll a jig behind a boat slowly along places I think hold fish.
    The other option I use is an L spinner with a colorado blade on top and jig on the bottom. This is a good searching method of fishing. you can also take a yum beavertail put it on a jig and use a slipbobber rig to get into areas where casting is impossible (brush piles/ trees in water) and drop the line into the brush and watch the bobber to indicate when your jig has been tapped. This is also good if you want to float the jig to an area and let the wind impart subtle action to the lure.
    HTH.

the next generation of slabhunters

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by BUCKET HEAD
    I'M FAIRLY NEW TO FISHING DESPITE MY 52 YEARS. I'VE CAUGHT A FEW CRAPPIE WITH MINNOWS BUT NOTHING WITH JIGS. HOW ARE YOU SUPPOSE TO FISH A JIG? I HAVE SEVERAL COLORS OF JIGS AND TWO DIFFERENT PANFISH ASSASSIN'S, ARE THEY SUPPOSED TO BE FISHED LIKE JIGS?
    I have a beginner type how to jig fish on my web site so take a look see there. After that if you have any questions (I am sure you will) you can PM me or email me and I would be happy to help with what ever I can.

Here is a link to the How To Page... http://thumpitjigs.com/HowTo.html

Skip

Peak Vise Dealer
    Tying Materials, Chenille and Hackle
    For Pictures of my Crystal, Nylon/Rayon or