Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Where would you fish?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Where would you fish?

Hey all, I'm new to Crappie.com and am lacking experience in targeting Crappie in the summer so I'm hoping to pick the brains of you more experience Crappie anglers.

Up until a couple of years ago I had never fished Crappie before. Not because I didn't want to but because there aren't any lakes in my area with Crappie. One day, I was talking with some other anglers and one of them told me he had heard about a lake about 100km south of us that supposedly held Black Crappie so I promptly decided I would fish it and find out if it was true. I took my first trip down to the lake in February when there was over 3 feet of ice. Luckily for me I caught 3 Crappie that day and and from then forward I was completely hooked on these fish. Since then, I've gone down to this lake another 20-30 times. I've been very successful in the winter months but not in the summer.

I've attached a marked up map hoping you might be able to advise me as to what areas you would try targeting them and what technique I should try. There aren't any brush piles or brush pile-like cover on the lake. The north end (in red) is a weedbed with about 3 feet of water between the surface and the weeds. I've caught a handful of them in this section while working the shoreline for bass. In the winter, I targetted them in the small yellow section marked 12-16ft and done well but have yet to connect with them there in the summer. The south end of the lake is rocky and deeper than the rest of the lake. Last weekend, I trolled with cranks but didn't connect with any Crappie. There is an abundance of Northern Pike, Smallmouth and Largemouth Bass and Bowfin in the lake.

Looking forward to any feedback you might be able to give me.
    CW

Name:  Lake-MarkUp.jpg
Views: 405
Size:  63.6 KBName:  Lake.jpg
Views: 338
Size:  52.5 KB

Post Thanks / Like