Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trolling Cranks Help

Post Thanks / Like

Default Trolling Cranks Help

Am trying to get up and running trolling crankbaits. Found a great deal on 6 Abu Garcia 6500lc's. About to pull the trigger on the B&M Prto Staff Trolling Rods , 2 - 16', 2 - 12' and 2 - 8' unless anyone has any other suggestions to offer. Been looking around and reading here on the site and it seems that Bandits or Strike King lures get the most amount of recommendations.
    Would you all help out with color advice. Do you use different colors at different depths (200 series vs 300 series)
    The main lakes we fish are Mark Twian, Lake of the Ozarks, Enid, Lake Washington, Lake Fork & Toledo Bend. Any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks for your help.

skeetbum is offline Crappie.com Legend - Moderator Jig Tying Forum * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Let me start by saying that I'm no expert but started doing this last year and I'm having fun with it this year. The rods will do well for both pushing and pulling and I think would be a good choice in the lengths stated. I use BGJP's and they wont stand the added weight that I have been told some use while pushing, up to 6oz. Mine are 8, 10, and 12'(2 each) and I use spinning reels with 8lb line, but most use 10. I keep the 8' rods short, the 10's a bit longer and the 12's a good long cast from the boat and seldom get tangled on one another. My rods stick out at 90* to the boat, and the next is a few degrees further back and so on, creating a spread almost 30'wide. I have Bandit 300's mostly and some 200's also. Color is dictated by the fish, some that you wouldn't think would do well will surprise you. Speed and track on the gps help a lot also. Somewhere between .8 and 1.5 gets the most action for me. Flats with irregularities can be found on maps and maybe cut down on the trial and error. another post on here somewhere has the depth chart on band