PDA

View Full Version : back browser not working



Kman
07-23-2013, 04:38 PM
this is becoming an issue...for years now I had become used to having to hit the back browser at least twice on crappie.com for it to work. Now, it does nothing only
certain threads. I have no choice but to click on Forums and start over again. I have clicked the compatibility button and that does not help. whats going on?:banghead

Countryboy N.C.
07-23-2013, 06:13 PM
The back arrow hasn't worked for me in a while, If you hit the down arrow beside the back and forward arrow you can return to the forum with out starting over. It will drop down and show your history, just click on the one you want. While you are reading the post other sites have popped up in your history or something like that, hit the down arrow and you'll see what I'm talking about.

Slab
07-23-2013, 10:56 PM
Although I've heard of members having this problem, I've never been able to recreate it. Back button works fine for me, and I have tried many different browsers including IE, Firefox, Chrome, Safari, and even SeaMonkey! Back button always works.

But if it does not work you can always click on the forum name on the "Bread Crumb" line. Kinda the third line from the top of the page. I copied the line below, but it copied funny. Anyway, you should be able to click on the forum name without having to go all the way back to the top of the chain.

http://www.crappie.com/crappie/images/misc/navbit-home.png (http://www.crappie.com/crappie/forum.php) Forum (http://www.crappie.com/crappie/forum.php) Crappie Fishing - Crappie.com (http://www.crappie.com/crappie/crappie-fishing-crappie-com/) Main Crappie Fishing Forum (http://www.crappie.com/crappie/main-crappie-fishing-forum/) back browser not working

rnvinc
07-24-2013, 01:38 AM
Download CCleaner and run it often...

It could be the cache filling up...

CCleaner - PC Optimization and Cleaning - Free Download (http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner)

Rickie

REDEYE50
07-24-2013, 08:04 AM
Had the same problem for years. Slab and i talked about it , he said he thought it was an ie issuse. Seemed to get better for awhile a few months ago seems that when i first get on a thread i can go back with 2 clicks, but if you go on it takes 3 or more to get back. Most of the time just go back to the down arrow beside back & forth. Still aggrevating!

CrappiePappy
07-24-2013, 11:12 AM
NOTE : most of the scuttlebutt about back buttons not working, relate to "Ads" being inserted into the Back Que as the cause of having to click the Back Arrow multiple times. I observed this very thing, back when I was originally having to click the Back Arrow multiple times. BUT, since becoming a SuperMod, and having advertisements blocked from the message screen, I've had no such problems.
*******************************

Kman ... have you tried using the mouse buttons, rather than the "Back Arrow" ?? If you click the Right Mouse button, when your pointer is on a blank part of the screen, a drop down menu comes on ... then you can click on "back" (1st choice in the menu).

When this problem first appeared, I was having to click the Back Arrow several times to get back to the previous page. I was still using Internet Explorer, at the time ... but, I may have had IE7 or IE8 :dono I do know that since IE9 started, I was having so much trouble even getting ON the web ... long waits for pages to load, "not responding" errors, etc. ... that I started using Chrome, and haven't had those problems since I switched.

I have been using CCleaner for years ... but, you don't want to use it blindly, as it can really mess up your computer. I researched every single "choice" involved, before checking the box beside that choice ... to see what it would do, or whether or not I really needed those files "cleaned". You also have to put the web address (URL) of websites you don't want cookies cleaned from, into a "ignore/exempt" file in CCleaner ... otherwise you'd have problems getting back on the site.

Have you tried using the Right Mouse Button to click on the Back Arrow, instead of the Left Mouse Button ?? Using the Right Mouse Button will cause a menu to drop down, showing you all the prior pages you've been on. You can then click on the page you want to go back to.

... cp :kewl

"G"
07-24-2013, 11:15 AM
I have been using IE 9 now for about 6 months without any problems

BoarBuster
07-24-2013, 11:28 AM
I have been having the same problem but just thought it was my computer since I have had trouble with it before.:banghead


FISH ON:fish

CrappiePappy
07-24-2013, 11:31 AM
I have been using IE 9 now for about 6 months without any problems

According to some of the discussion forums ... the back button issue is not the fault of IE, but rather the insertion of ads into the back que by certain websites. That just seemed to fit this situation, since many members having back button issues have related that they don't have this issue on other sites. You (& I) being a SuperMod ... we're exempt from a lot of those ads that regular members have to deal with.

IE9 may have had some updates/fixes applied since it first came out, but I'm happy with Chrome. I still have IE9 on my computer, but just don't use it.

... cp :kewl

huls1
07-29-2013, 08:35 PM
i had that issue with internet explorer, switched to firefox and it works most every time