Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Battery slightly sizzles while on charger for a while

Post Thanks / Like

Default Battery slightly sizzles while on charger for a while

Is my battery bad, or is it my charger? While charging my battery (2 amp 12v), it makes a slight sizzle or boil from one side. I didn't try to go to 6amp 12v, because I thought something was going to fry or blow. What is it?
    "Dats.........uhh......NO-ICE.........FUSH!"

-Al Linder

Post Thanks / Like

Sounds like a bad cell or two to me. On the brighter side your about to be $100 lighter.

Post Thanks / Like

Have you checked the fluid level in the battery, I'm not an expert of anything but i would think if it was too low on fluid then it may try to boil it. Hope this helps you.
    You can't fish with a hung line!

chaunc is offline 2014 Crappie.com Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

I agree. Check fluid levels before you dish out the bucks. If its low, use distilled water to fill it up. Only use distilled water. Then re-charge as soon as possible.

Post Thanks / Like

Default test it

It could be a bad cell. The only way to tell that is with a hydrometer. I found one at Walmart for a couple of bucks. You can tell the difference between the cells by how many balls will float. Fill the cells with distilled water first; then give her a full charge.
    DP
    I am a heterosexual male. 2 Chronicles 7:14
    "If my people who are called by My name will humble themselves and pray and seek My face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from Heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land."

Post Thanks / Like

Has anybody heard the wives-tale about using a bayer aspirin to "revive" a dead cell? Will it work?
    Chuck the aggrivating stuff.......... Just go Fishing!

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by bowdenja