Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Thinking of building a rod and need suggestions

Post Thanks / Like

Default Thinking of building a rod and need suggestions

Sunday I managed to break a BPS Wally Marshall signature series 10ft rod. I have some experience in rod building. I think it was medium action. it was the upper half that broke leaving me about an 8ft rod. I've been looking at fly rod blanks, and wondering if anyone has a suggestion on fly rod weight to use to have a comparable rod. The Wally Marshall was IM 8. I'm concerned that 8 weight is just a little lacking to horse crappie into the boat. The broken rod was used to horse a channel cat about 3 lb into the boat. I know i shouldn't have, and really don't know what I was thinking. Any suggestions, or even suggestions where I might find a new upper half of the rod to replace. thanks in advance for suggestions.

Post Thanks / Like

In the Wally Marshall rods, I don't think the IM rating is the weight of the rod. IM is a technology use to describe the weaving or the way that grapite is put together. If you're going to need to lift fish into the boat with your rod, then I would suggest using a blank with some fiberglass in it. Bear in mind that I am biased here.I've fished with bamboo, fiberglass and graphite. While graphite is much lighter, by far my favorite is fiberglass. It can be limber, strong and sensative all at the same time.
    Where you go is less important than how you take the steps.
    But don't forget the Roadrunners

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by nemofisher View Post
    I'm concerned that 8 weight is just a little lacking to horse crappie into the boat.
    First, I agree with LJ that "IM 8" is not the same as an 8wt fly rod.

Second, an 8wt blank is overkill for crappie, IMO. I've landed 20# baby tarpon on a 7wt. If you were just planning on fly fishing, I'd suggest no heavier than a 5wt. For what you're doing, you might want to try a 6wt.