Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 16" crappie in 15 acre lake ?

Post Thanks / Like

Question 16" crappie in 15 acre lake ?

My father-n-law just got into fishing this year and likes to tell stories. He claims he and a friend got to a 15 acre farm lake here in Wabash county, IN; and they catch 3 or 4, 16" crappie or "slabbers" as he calls them, every time they go. He's not an experienced fisherman by any means and says they catch them on tube jigs reeling straight in slow in 6'-10' of water. Are crappie this big commonly found in this size of lake and biteing on anything year round in 6'-10' of water? He claims they catch 12" bluegill also, but have never seen pictures of either. I'd like to call him out on this and say for sure he's full of crap. I've been fishing for 24 years and his first year he wants so bad to be the better fisherman ( why I don't know) , yet my 34" pike made him so jealous he wouldn't even look at the pictures, just mouthed off that he and a buddy caught 31 bluegill all 10"-12" long. Again no proof.

So any input or advice to help my cause :D , his bragging gets very old with no proof. Oh yeah he caught a 12" largemouth bass and thought it was a stripped bass becuase of the strip down the side. See what I deal with :rolleyes: -Thanks to all

Post Thanks / Like

It sounds like he may not be a friend of the truth.:D When i run across a "topper" or 1 upper when they ask what i caugth i tell we didnt have any luck.:p
    Quote Originally Posted by kyron4