Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: A bit confused on making rigs

Post Thanks / Like

Default A bit confused on making rigs

I'm new to fishing crappie and tying rigs (just all around inexperienced fisherman, really) and had a question on tying up rigs. I probably spend more time setting up my line and rig than I actually fish. So I've decided to start tying a few different setups at home, that way I can just tie them to the barrel swivel and be on my way.

My question is, what type of line should I be making my pre made rigs with? What I used for for the ones I've made thus far is 10 lb mono that was just laying around. I've since realized that wasn't too smart because the line will show up much more. So, what do you suggest to go along with my 6 lb mono that I have spooled? Mono or fluro and what lb?

thanks
    Last edited by DgTerrell; 05-13-2013 at 11:06 AM.

Post Thanks / Like

I like suffix 8# clear or green. I'd never use less than 8#. 10# works in stained water below 3"
    Fin

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

DT ... it's usually customary to use a slightly smaller pound test line than your main line, when making pre-tied rigs. Mono is the normal line type for these "rigs" ... but, many different line types can be/are used.
    The main purpose of using a lesser pound test line, for the rigs, is so that only the rig or part of it will be lost to hanging up ... depending on number of hooks attached. The various different riggings are shown in a sticky at the top part of this forum page, if you want to check out some of the variations that our members use. It's also a good idea to have something to wrap around, or put these pre-made rigs on ... and a "pool noodle" seems to be the cheapest & easiest to acquire. (I recently saw an ad for them, in a local store, for $1/ea)

... cp

Post Thanks / Like