Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Crappie fishing on a budget

Post Thanks / Like

Default Crappie fishing on a budget

Hey guys,

So I'm new to crappie fishing, and I'm hoping to spend a lot of time on the water this summer. I've read a lot of threads and have learned a lot already from this forum. At this point in my life, I just can't really afford to spend a lot of money on a new set up, so I'm going to have to make due with what I have.

Right now I have access to about 4 or 5 ultralight rigs, and a few medium action bass rods.

So my question is do you really need the long 10'-16' rods to spider rig. I can see advantages to having rods that push your lures further from the boat, but can you still catch fish with 6' rod? If longer rods are really necessary, what do y'all thing about trying to use 5 or 6 weig fly rods?

Im really intrigued by the spider rigging concept and would really like to try and fish like that, but i also don't want to be wasting my time if I just don't have the right gear.

From what ive read, I think I will be fine long lining with just about any rod.

So, ya any help would be greatly appreciated

Post Thanks / Like

If the fish are deep, say late winter into early spring, and again in summer the shorter rods may be used. They will not be as effective though, and will limit you to fishing extremely slow. One of the advantages to the longer rods is they keep the lines out away from the boat when moving forward. Most tight liners fish their poles in the front of the boat while sitting alone or tandem with a partner. The shorter rods could be spaced out along the sides of the boat and used.
    Professional Crappie Removal
    Safe and ethical
    One rod, one jig, one fish at a time.

shipahoy41 is offline Crappie.com Legend - 2022 Crappie.com Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like