Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Any advice on how to fish this cove?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Any advice on how to fish this cove?

This is a cove on a lake in Oklahoma, by my families land. The crappie should be spawning soon, if not already. Any help on how to fish it? We will be fishing from the bank mainly, but we do have a 2 man boat as well. It is easy to walk around so can be bank fished from both sides. There is standing timber throughout the cove. We are going to be using minnows and jigs. Im pretty new to crappie fishing so just wondering where a good starting point would be or how any of you guys would fish it. Thanks

Post Thanks / Like

If you have a depth finder on your two-man, I would try to locate brush on those drops, (the areas where the contour lines are close together) this is where the big females will be staging. Either mark it with a buoy and anchor 20-25 feet away and cast a slip bobber set-up and a minnow and just let it sit. Or, rig up a couple of jig poles with your favorite jigs and slowly troll over the brush. From the bank, cast a minnow about 18" under a bobber and let it sit. You can also cast a jig/bobber combo and slowly retrieve it back to you, giving it a little pop every now and then. Set the hook at the slightest twitch. I hope this helps, good luck!
    ><}}}}*> (C.J.)

Post Thanks / Like

Oh yeah, most important thing, watch the locals!!
    ><}}}}*> (C.J.)

Post Thanks / Like

I think, for spawn, they'll be close to the bank, plus, they want a steep dropoff (quick escape I figure),
    So, I'd fish that place on the left side where the contour lines are real close together = quick changing btm, probably deep....
    JMHO
    "Teach a man to fish = he can feed himself "
    "Teach the world to fish = you won't have any fish left to eat "

Post Thanks / Like